Faith is Not Knowledge

COMIC son of satan 1

By Joshua S. Poulin, Sect of the Horned God

(This particular post written by Joshua is in response to being added (un-requested) to a Facebook group of satanic theists.~ Mistress-Babylon Consort)

‘My guess, as I don’t believe in ANY “supernatural entities”, is that I truly may not belong in here. I am an instinctual atheist/scientific agnostic. I have never once had any quantification of something worthy of my praise, worship, acknowledgement, or even attention, that is “beyond”. I agree with Mr Richard Dawkins when he said that “human beings have an amazing affinity for hallucinations”. That being said, as scientifically I cannot disprove the existence of any of these “beings”, I cannot entirely rule out the possibility that they may exist, in some form or another. I believe it to be a fallacy to believe that something is ABSOLUTELY not there, if one has no method of disproving it…… however, my mind does not allow for “faith” in things without quantification, without evidence. Who knows? Perhaps, one day, we will have instrumentation that can read such things. Some claim that we do now, but my research into “faith-based” claims has shown more scam-artistry than science. As I said, perhaps one day, but not today.

I am “faithless”, but I am open to the possibility that, with my limited intellect, I could be wrong. I need proof, and in my studies of spirituality, philosophy, and religions, I have seen absolutely NONE. So, Murduk, The Dark Lord, or whatever you want to call “it”, has NO POWER, if it’s power is never expected to be proven, never mind the fact that I question it’s very existence….. and I say that to any “deity” or “entity” or “god” or “demon”. How fascinating it is to me, that so many claim their “god(s)” to be powerful, and yet said “beings” are never expected to prove it. Convenient, then, that many state “my benefit comes from the wisdom they impart to me”.

I was once a “LaVeyan Satanist”, and was a member of the CoS from ’93 to ’98, shortly after Anton died. He was most certainly an atheist, who used the archetype that was most comfortable to him for his work. I have transcended such “needs”, and, in fact, welcome discomfort. For the record, no worries if I get a bit of a backlash for this opinion. I am used to being told “how sad it is that I don’t have the ‘joys of faith'”….. I have dealt with believers my whole life, and NONE have ever convinced me of their beliefs. My mind is open, but my gullibility is none-existent. So, if this is a group for “believers only”, then please, remove me from it. If not, then I stay to hear opinions of others, as I have found that a broad spectrum of perspectives is more likely to hold “truth” than a narrowly focused one. This is not an attack on anyone, in particular, but rather, what is in my opinion, a much needed counter-balance in this chat room. Faith is NOT knowledge, by the very definitions of the words.’

Leave a Reply

